Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It has been a debatable issue whether laws enforced by higher authorities are able to solve modern society problem or not. I firmly believe that in 21st century laws are ineffective untill individuals have changed their mindset. First and foremost reason is that bureaucracy define the legal system on generic view; but, untill they not understand problem of every person then it is worthless. For example, government always urge to no use of plastic and in many nations top councile made a law as well. However, most people use it because of polythene is cheaper as compare to other material. Here, the government should represent the consequence of this malicious material towards the people and encourage them to curb the use of plastic. Hence, in modern world such laws are not able to solve complex issues as government employ on the government.

Furthermore, laws are developed for citizen of the country and it is benefited for them. but, effectiveness of the laws directly depends on the littercy level of masses. Country like India, where government enforces stringent legal system regarding traffic system. Owing to feel comfortable many citizens are not wear the helmet during driving. However, they know the consequence like they have to pay huge amount of fine. Apart from this, mostly individuals follow the laws because of fear of the fine and penalty. If they think about themselves and they consider the law positively then surely this legal system will give us the auspicious time.

Nevertheless, sometime laws are not produced a desirable result, at least it works in somewhat extent in different scenario. For example, in UAE some laws related to crime are very strict. Due to that people always think about it consequence when they miscreant the legal system. Today, in United Arab Emirates has a low crime rate as compare to other countries. Therefore, laws are essentially in any nations regardless of the mindset of individuals. Because of laws always help to regulate the country directly or indirectly.

In conclusion, I re-affirm that laws are not worthwhile untill people mindset are not changed; but it at least help to reduces the illicit activities in country. This controversial issues has many view points but I believe that people inner intention always plays the vital role in country and that silent intention sometimes hamper the change in nations.