Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.
Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.
This topic raises a controversial issue whether problem of modern society cannot be solve by
laws because of laws can not change what is in people's hears and mind or laws have a ability
to solve the problem of modern society. Indisputably, modern society problems can not solve by
laws because of if people does not tend to change him habits and minds than laws are
insignificant and there is no meaning of law in legal system. Nevertheless, laws of legal
system provide the way how to follow some mechanism and using this law government become
successful to regulate society.
First of all, I would like to point of the example of traffic rules. The government legal system
make a traffic rules because of people follow it and regarding traffic related problem does not
arises in the city. But people does not follow the rule appropriatly than there is no meaning
of this rules. Because people minds stand does not change. We always faces the traffic related
issues in big city because of people does not tend to change them mind-set. If central
government system try to change the mind-set of the people than there is no situation raises
when legal system make the law.
Second, We always see the poster at public place like no smoking, use of the phone prohibited,
but people does not follow this rule and always break the rule because of them mind set are
totally diffrent. Also The best example of this situation is collages. In collages during the
lecture teachers does not allowed to use smartphone, but often student use phones during the
working lecture. If teachers will caught the student who using the phone and punish him then
again next day he use the phone during lecture hours because of university's laws does not
change the mind-set of students. If teachers will become to success change the mind-set of
students than no any students use phone during the lectures and do not break any university's
laws.
Furthermore, There are many advantage of laws of legal system because of it is successful many
scenarios where, due to laws people follow it and situation it lot better as comapre to before
the apply law in system. For example, The government passes the law regarding criminal
activies, and due to this in many countries in the world where there are very law crime rate,
Because of law. If peopele will not wear the helmet during driving than traffic police send the
e-memo. And the fear of the e-memo people always tends to wear the helmet during two wheeler
driving.
In conclusion, We can not judge the advantage and disadvantage of the law of legal system
because there are two situations. First one is that laws are successful to regulate the public
system and other hand laws become insignificant because of people does not tend chang him mindset.
So the author's reason is does not plausible at all. If author extend this topic and
define reason appropriatly than it would be lot more convincing.