Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

"Everyone thinks of changing the, but no one thinks of changing himself", a very famous quotation by Leo Tolstoy genuinely summarises the evils of the modern society. When we use the term "society" we lay down a carpet of expectations, expecting every single human to walk on the carpet the same way, often forgetting that it is not our expectation of an individual that makes him or her what he or she is. It rather is the expectations of their own selves. Now, what are these expectations if we think; aren't they just a bunch of axioms everyone blindly follows, sometimes just for the sake of following?

Similarly, when we talk about laws and the legal system what are these actually: just a bunch of rule set by a group of 'high thinkers' but not necessarily freethinkers. We also know that human beings have always, since the beginning of time have carried in them a subtle hint of selfishness which only got more and more proliferated. Thus, introducing the factor of benefit for the lawmakers themselves.

Also on the other hand apart from the lawmakers' benefits, the fact that not every human and the way every single human's mind work cannot be practically taken into account. So, what we end up is a generalised version of how every individual is expected to respond to a given situation.

So, basically it's just the flexibility that the laws and the legal system lack, that fail to solve many problems of modern society. Like for example, people having different financial abilities or exposure to resources have different ways of meeting their needs but let's say the laws are in favour of the majority which never means that the other way is wrong.

Also, people coming from different cultural or religious background have different ways of living right. It's the perspective what makes us what we are of course governed by the socioeconomic upbringing or one's own way of seeing the world, which isn't always in synchronization with the existing system.

So, in conclusion, if laws and system have the ability to accept rather than expect, then maybe the world would be a much happier place just like it was once described by John Lennon in his single "Imagine"