Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

I to a certain extent bolster the idea of scandals being useful and viewpoint of the author. Scandals draw huge attention from all classes of the society irrespective of which caste,creed or gender you belong to and hence the author's statement about scandals being efficable as compared to speakers is true.

Firstly, when scandals are revealed they not only seek attention of the entire society but also reveal indulgement of some leader or worker at a very high position and as a society we come to know about his/her real motives and hence, scandals helps us to segregate people and helps us to comprehend whom shall we support. For example, in India when 2G scam was encountered there were revelation of many big hands in that scam and they were put behind the bars after proper investigations and comman people get to know who about them which I personally think would never come out if there was no scandal.

Secondly, when we come across such scandals we come to know loop-holes in our system and this helps us to amend laws and in return strengthens our judiciary system, for example, A businessmen decieved a government bank and left the country with crores of stolen money, when investigation was held it came by that there was no rule like extradition bonds with other countries and hence the court had to relectantly drop the case but, after that there were amendments in the judicial and economical laws.

However, the author has generalized the statement that only through scandals we can draw attention, but like Socrates said "we do not have that much time that we learn from our own mistake, and instead we should learn from others mistakes as well" so it is not important that a country must have scandals to draw attention of the people for problems.

Sometimes it might be fine that people get to know about certain problems from scandals but nowhere it is true that speaker couldn't draw people's attention to problems, for example - Mahatma Gandhi he was a great speaker and people used to call him mass mobilizer, he was the one who draw attention to Indians that we cannot live under supression and must seek freedom its our birth-right. He with any deception and solely through words united an entire nation of about 100 million people and brought a reform that shook the entire colonial government and which ultimately led to independence of India.

Hence, it is not prudent to generalize that only scandals can bring important reforms and speaker are not abled to bring reforms and draw attention of society as a whole.