True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author claims that true success can be measured basically in terms of personal goals. I certainly concur to author's claim. The author believes that success is only success if it is based on personal goals. To support my position I would be providing some cogent points to support my points.

First and foremost What is success?, humans all over the world are struggling to achieve success. this struggle starts from the very time one is born. In the inchoate stages only we all struggle for success; from trying to get water or have food. success can be determined as if you are a better version of yourself then yesterday and if you are able live your life in the moment without any intrepidation your life is successful.

To achieve true success one must set goals for oneself and not make a bucket-list by comparing it with others.

Secondly, when we set goals for ourselves to improve ourself and not to impress others, we set goals which gives true self-satisfaction. you should not try to make a bucket list by copying it from any superstar or your best friend. All are meant to do some special unique tasks. A footballer in his childhood cannot set goals to be excellent in astronomy if say his best friend is to start a course on it. it is because if you deviate from your set goals and set a "plan B" you are giving spending world's strongest currency-time on that plan which not even yours which you yourself dont want. Just because someone is doing and achieving the success in it, it is not necessary that you will also achieve success in that field. hence, one should set his personal goals and not copy others to know the true essence of satisfaction.

Lastly, if you are dedicated to your goals you will not feel dejection towards that goal even you fail, if you are determined you will rise above all and try and try to achieve that goal and this is because you know your strength and weaknesses and hence, you know that the goals you set for yourself is achievable and you are capable of doing it.

There is a downside though to it, one might not know their potential or might under estimate oneself and try to set goals which they think are possible and might not push themselves and be satisfied with a version of themselves which is not at its full potential. we need to set goals which push ourselves which compels us to be better of ourselves than yesterday.