Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claims that one can only understand the essence of an idea when one is being forced to defend its idea against an opposing viewpoint. To which I concur because of myraid reasons, and would delve into the reasons in subsequents paragraphs.

Firstly, ideas are product of human thinking and just like a person's mettle is tested by his ability to resurge and also to stand firmly in situations where odds are not in his favour, in the same way ideas are also tested. The ideas might have loopholes or defects which the person might not see and might fail to actually comprehend the efficacy of his idea, it is odds and different situation through which he/she can know the credibility of idea and its significance in multiple situation. presenting ideas in different situations only makes that idea better becuase we keep on moulding our ideas in the quest to defend our idea and when we convince one about our vision the endproduct is breathe-taking.

Secondly, there is nothing to loose and much to gain. By doing this exercise one is never loosing, its always either you got know the significance of your idea or about the weakness of your idea which needs restitution. By testing ideas one can learn varied possible applications of ideas. For ex: in my case I had an idea about the usage of shperical bottom glasses for asthetic purposes, when I presented my idea to my friend for starting a business of such glasses he denounced it conspicuously. While denying about the defects of my business I came to know that this can be very much useful in case of bars. In bars one can use it to play a game of continously drinking without keeing the glass down, this will help the bar burgeon and help me in selling these types of glasses.

but there is also a downside to it, when one becomes totally possed with his/her ideas and when presented with strikingly opposing viewpoints he/she might think that you are mocking his idea and in a quest to prove you wrong he might forget the linchpin purpose of this argument and might start attacking personally or just avoid the argument. hence there are situation where we need to take actions where we might need to concur to their ideas and make them believe that the idea is good but have some loopholes. For example- when I demanded a bike to my wife, we had an furious argument over it. Then the next day she came to me and told me that you can take the bike, but we would not be able to use it in summer due to too much heat, similarly cannot use it in monsoon and hence I realized that car would be a better option than bike.