To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The true soul of any society lies in its culture. The author however, contends that one must study its major cities to descry about the important characteristics of that society. I generally disagree to this contention and would clear my stance by providing cogent points in this essay.

When we talk about society we refer to some group of people who either share some common ideology or belongs to common land or are connected by some means and are united. Major cities of the society are the places where one can find maximum number of people from that society but here the problem is all major cities resembles a common characteristics in some or the other way and hence we do not get varied idiosyncrasy. For example - India is a vast country with multifaceted ethnicity and hence, here if we would examine major cities, we could find similar characteristics, like in Delhi and Chennai though separated by about 1000 KM both share almost same fashion and people running after their bosses and are in a hurry to catch a bus or a train. Hence, studying major cities wouldn't turn out to be that fruitful.

The study should be done on villages or small towns of that society where one would find extremely rich cultural values and have a first hand experience of that societies features and idiosyncrasies.The people of major cities are having a fear called fear of being left out and hence, the vast cities get easily affected by other cultures and abandon their ethnicity to just be with the time. So, if one would analyse major cities also they wouldn't be able to find a veracious nature of society. To achieve this we should comprehensively examine an integral part of the group, the rustic areas where true ethnicity lies. they are unaffected by the current trends and maintain their true ethnic clothing and values. For example- In Rajasthan state of India, as per author if one would be analyzing the major cities then would find the sam western culture men in suits or young teenagers in torn jeans and women in western clothes but, if we were to analyse the rural areas of it we would get the rich values of society like, there women wear about 300 years old ethnic wear called "bandhani" and hence would get to know about the veracious ethnic values.

Concluding the aforementioned points, it is best if one explores the rustic beauty of the small cities first to get clear idea about the important characteristics of the society and then could scrutinize the major cities as it comprises now a days about 70 percent of the society.