The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large

The author states the trade off of public welfare which arisis due to corporations agenda to maximize profits, which I strongly support. A corporation with sole agenda of maximizing profits would incontrovertibly lead to the trade off of general welfare of nation.

The desire to maximize the profits can be considered avarice of the companies which only thinks about profits and not about general welfare of the nation. it has been observed that one who gets greedy about anything tend to destroy itself and other around it, which is the case here with the companies. Further expounding we can take example of colonial rule, britishers when started to conquer the nations their sole priority was to just conquer and get as much they can extract from that nation even at the cost of humanity. In india when britishers invaded they not only suppressed Indian population for years and seperated them from their culture but they also pulverized them both internally and externally which led to ultimately down fall of india. these types of desires always leads to detrimental effects and hence ultimately degrades general welfare of the nation as we can see that once a country like india which was considered the "bird of gold" is now just a developing country with second highest population.

A very suitable example to justify the statement would be the companies producing cigrettes, tabacco and other toxic products which are legitimate in countries. The tabacco company unequivocally states that its products causes cancer, however they soley focus on their own profits and keep on producing such products at the cost of general welfare of nations. such products not only cause lethal diseases but also affects the nation's welfare at a huge cost. For example-these products are not regulated and are not monitered perusingly and hence there is no idea who is consuming these products, so youngsters which are considered the future of the nation might fall for this snarous product and get addicted and destroy their life and the ones who they are surrounded by, which ultimately comes as a great loss to nation.

The keyword here can be solely profit the companies if desires to not solely maximizing their profits then it is not right to say that the above statement is true.