The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The mayor of Hopewell proposes a new strategy to increase the revenue and generate additional taxes. The proposal is Hopewell shall also build a golf course and resort hotel as in Ocean View keeping in mind the their(Ocean view) success. I disagree to this contention and believe that this proposal might not be the successful in fulfilling its target.

The mayor makes an unwarranted assumption that this proposal would have same effect as it had in Ocean View's town. I find this baseless. There is no evidence that the Hopewell and Ocean View shares identical features and hence, what might attracted the tourists could be the ambience and bucolic environment of Ocean View. Also, apart from golf course, there might be some other tourist attraction at Ocean View and hence, people would certainly prefer Ocean View rather than Hopewell's resort.

Additionally, there is no guarantee that new businesses would certainly open and would help Hopewell's economy to burgeon. It might happen that government spend hefty amount over resort and golf course but, due to some reason like, government's stringent policies, businessman might not be interested in opening their branch at Hopewell. This might push government further into misery.

Also, the mayor without any analysis assumed that tourism will increase and so would revenue. But there are many factors affecting growth of tourism. If say people are only attracted to golf course and resort, but this case also might not be sufficient that tourist would proliferate. There are myriad of reasons like proper transportation facilities and congenial enviroment which affect tourists. If the Hopewell is not having congenial environment and there is a near constant storms, then the point of golf course would certainly be futile.

Moreover, even if this recommendation attracts tourists there is no guarantee that it will attract tantamount tourists to atleast compensate the construction effort of the government. It might happen that meager tourists are attracted and hence less revenue is generated. This revenue might be too less that it fails to even compensate the construction money and pushes the economy further down.

In sum, because of mayor's unwarranted assumptions and lack of evidence this recommendation turns out to be baseless. Just by assuming that it worked for one would certitudely work for the other is deleterious.For implementing this proposal one would require more profound analysis into the matter.