The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to this argument, the author wants to improve the economy of Hopewell's and generate additional text. However, many points given in support of the views are not very convincing. The author has failed to give enough and strong shreds of evidence.

In this argument, the author is making assumptions that if he will change the environment and infrastructure of Hopewell there will be more profit and production. This argument has many loopholes as the author is talking based on his assumptions.

First of all, the author is comparing the Hopewell economy with some nearby towns. The author is talking about building a golf course and resort hotel similar to the ocean view. It is also possible that people who are booking a resort is for enjoying the ocean view and they want a refreshment. But, in Hopewell may be the view could not be seen. Hence, the evidence used by the author is very Vague.

Secondly, the author has mentioned tourism during the past two years. Two-year is along period, it is possible that in two years things must have been changed maybe the income has declined or risen up. Hence, the author is failed to explain his/her point of view. Hence, it can be concluded that this study is incomplete.

Lastly, the author is talking about opening the business and resort and Golf course in Hopewell but he has not tried to explain the procedure, cost and success ratio.

Hence this argument seems dubious as it is not supported by evidence and the author has not taken care of all the situations.