The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author claims that to create leaders who would help humanity in sustainable development and guide humanity is not through competition but by cooperation. I agree to author's claim becausse of the below described cogent reasonings.

Firstly, leaders are the ones who manages the team, and when there is a quetion of whole team we certainly don't want someone who is onerous and thinks people as a ladder for his success. hence, If leaders are only having the sense of competition rather than cooperation than it would defeat the sole purpose of leader. leader guides the team and help them achieve success and understands that his success is when the team succeeds. The world have witnessed many leaders like Mahatama gandhi and Nelson Mandela, Mahatama gandhi was doing good in his life and was not a miser, but when he saw the situation of india, he left his luxurious life and performed each and every action to upleft the Indian population. If mahatama had thought about his loss of his valuable time and money which he spent in movements life non-violence and Satyagrah, and would have avoided the situation and settled in South Africa than he might not be having a title of "mahatama" and india still might be under opression of Britishers. Hence, leaders should be the who believe in united effort and united outcome rather than individual profit/loss.

Secondly, if all are moving in a direction of fighting a competition, even the leaders then, the world might end up in a complete chaos. The leaders need to run governments and industries and have other big responsibilites and each and every field requires different set of skills. Now, if leaders only feel the need to compete they might end up in achieving a skill which is not required in his field and would give his valuable time in thinking of ways to get better than that other person or firm.

Also, In today's world food and shelter are not the need of a man, its much more than that, like a vacation at disney land. As we see the needs are increasing and the resources are scarce, this creates the state of competition among living beings. we all not just humans all living beings compete in life, either for food or some other resources. only instilling the sense of cooperation might end up the firm or government being duped by other firms or governments. hence leaders should have both the qualitites, but in a appropriate proportion as much of anything is always detrimental.