People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

There is a famous saying “Show me your friends and I will tell you who you are.” Do we live in a society where one person’s behavior is same as the other person’s? The prompt here is suggesting that the behavior of an individual person is caused by external influences. I totally agree with this suggestion.

We are human, one of the greatest aspects of human being is the ability to learn, absorb from the surrounding. How much can a person absorbs from his/her surrounding can affect that person. For instance, there was a research conducted to make a monkey intelligent by raising a baby monkey with a real human baby together; the idea was to make the monkey learn from human baby as they both grow together. The result of this experiment was quite shocking as it was found that instead of monkey picking up human traits, the human baby started to behave like a monkey. Why did this happen? Well, this happened because of human’s ability to absorb and learn from their surrounding is very much higher to that of any other animals. We can clearly understand by the outcome of the above experiment how much human behavior is determined by their surroundings.

A study conducted by many organizations to understand the criminal behaviors are proven conclusively that most violent criminals had a direly bad childhood experiences, childhood abuse, having to listen or see violent behaviors of parents are few of many. As a child go through such trauma that affects the behavior of that child when he reaches adulthood. The place one live in and the way one is being raised will be the major influence of the person’s behavior. If we notice history we can find many great and flawed people who were just a product of the external influences on them. When a child is raised in a loving and supportive family his behavior would a reflection of that as that is what is influencing him. When we take a religion one into most of the time that is due the reason that their parents were part of that religion and people go to any edge to defend that religion even though he was not into that religion by his own choice.

One might say people who lived in a bad neighborhood or bad family situation were not having any bad behaviors and they turned out successful. Yes, there are people who have seen successful and came from bad part of life but things we are not taking into account in here is the people who were a model people are in minimal comparatively and also most people where into bad ways and came out it due to other good external influences they received.