School should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Education is one of the most important thing; the development of a country can be determined by the total percentage of people that are educated. “No Child is Left Behind” it is the mantra every country in the world trying to follow to make sure all the kids are educated.The prompt recommends that the schools should teach children how to face the real world as adult. I agree with the suggestion and I argue that the children should have knowledge beyond academic education for below reasons.

Many schools in India consider academic education as most important assent and these academic education doesn’t mostly have any real life applications. The main focus in the academic education is to teach the children how to memorize and reproduce what all were memorized in Exams. The students who excel very well in academic education suffer a great deal when they have to face some dire situations. For instance, Nikole Testla, One of the best inventor, who was responsible for discovering Alternating Current. Tesla was known to be an excellent student but his excellence in studies didn’t make him successful as one would expect him to be; this was due to his inability to make right business decisions. If he had knowledge on how to deal with real life difficult financial situations, his life wouldn’t have had bad ending. This example clearly illustrate how important it is to educate children on real life issues,difficulties and how to face these issues. This will help them navigate through adulthood in a better way.

The academic studies often teach children how to win(Clear the exam) but in real life we are not always in a place were we can win, failure is inevitable; Schools doesn’t really prepare children for failure. A study suggests that the students who have been successful in academic education and they face a failure in life they become downhearted and doesn’t know how to cope with the failure. The only way they can be prepared if they had been taught about scenarios during their school life. Beyond academic subjects like Maths and science,The students should be exposed to non-academic like sports,music etc. Many private schools doesn’t expose children non-academic things; When the children are exposed to different non-academic things it will help the children to find who they are passionate about. When is real-life the academic education didn’t help them be successful as they wanted to, the non-academic things will help excel in different aspects.

Of-course, One might argue that the companies such as Google, Microsoft hires people with very good academic background. Yes, it is true but people without much of academic education were able to build many multi-million dollar companies such as Richard of Virgin Airline, Deymond of FUBU etc. Education is important but education doesn’t mean only academic education; It should be both academic and Non-academic education.