Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and sup porting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Since the early days schools have mainly focused on the academics because it was assumed that the rest of the information need to become a functioning adult will be taught by the family and the community. However, with the rise in globalization and the market in general, we have lost the tightly knit communities and children graduate with imperfect knowledge to tackle the world. Schools should now step up to this challenge and expand their definition of education to incorporate many more disciplines.

An adult needs a vast amount of knowledge of various topics to thrive in the current world and one of the most basic ingredient in the economic soup is money. Every individual must know what is money, where does it come from, how debt works or how the society in general generates wealth. This information is generally reserved for individuals who opt into the academics pertaining to economics and the general populous is unaware about it. Schools should keep basic economics a must for every student to keep them competitive in this fast paced world. However, it may be argued that the student, if he/she shows interest in this field will elect it on their own but that will still alienate vast majority of others who aren't interested enough to devote their whole academic career into it.

Any successful individual will credit their success to not only their hard work but also to others who help them climb up the success ladder. To be able to socialise and create a network is a very valuable skill to have. Unfortunately not many have this innate talent but it can be grown and groomed overtime. People who lack this skill and don't know how to develop it will hamper their rise in the corporate ladder. If schools taught young malleable minds on how to network and polish their social skills, we will have many more success stories. This could even be in favour of the school as now the school will have more successful alumnis to boast about.

Today more and more people are dying not because of any violence or wars but by losing the battle to their own minds. A lot of cases of mental depression goes unnoticed because people just don't know how to identify them. Teaching students on how to identify and help such individuals may prevent a large number of unnecessary deaths. Mentally unstable individuals in the recent times have gone rouge and have caused mass shootings even in schools. Educational institutions like schools should support this to make them a safe place to study.

With the dawn of the 21st century, the communities that helped in grooming children have slowly withered away. This new generation of students are now on their own to fend for themselves in this ruthless world. Schools should now capitalise on the opportunity and guide this young and talented individuals and fill in the gaps of the information left by the lack of any proper grooming by the parents or the society.