Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation

and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and sup porting your position, be sure

to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

School plays a significant role in development of student from early age. Schools are essential to provide students with discipline and knowledge required to know this world better as well as also develop their interest in few topics. Schools teaches multifarious subjects like science, mathematics, history, geography and many more, so this preamble of each topic can help them in better understanding of the topic of their choice.

But, is this academic subject are sufficient for everyone to choice there future in adulthood? We have heard this quote a lot many time – “Every child is different”. Is it correct for schools to constraint their curriculum that fits in the need of every student? Sometimes, this academic aspect taught in school is not enough for few students.

For instance, in 2000’s in India most of the schools focused on academic aspects and thus students faced problem when they reach their adulthood. Problems like, very few career choices they had, example either Engineer, Doctor, Lawyer or CA based on their majors in high school. Whereas, if we see India of 2019, schools started focusing on non-academic aspects along with academics and thus, students have a spectrum of choices, like music, dance, sports etc. other than their academics.

Home is the first school. Non-academic aspects should start from home also. Sometimes academic pressure is burdensome for students and parents obscure to see other talent in their child. Therefore, sometimes parents instead of pressurizing students to just study and get good grades and become a rank holder in class, they can bolster their child to pursue what they can excel and help them to get proper coaching or training at an early age.

As above all points, are in favor of the claim that Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood. But there are loopholes in every aspect, if school focus more on non-academic aspect than students might lack in academic knowledge. Thus, weak foundation of each subject will be laid. Non-academic activities are such that it can be developed outside school also, by the help of parents, peers and trainers. But academic aspects can mostly be developed in school.

According to the claim, I talked about both minimal and moderate intervention of school in non-academic aspect. I would like to conclude that, school should include non-academic activities to certain extend that does not hamper their primary goal, as well as, help in overall development of students for adulthood.