Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business

matters.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In

developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples

that could be used to challenge your position.

Small business has necessities to thrive: Startup capital, location and physical infrastructure and of course customers. While, in general, government’s hand-off policies can help small business owner from time consuming and cumbersome regulations and helps to regulate the ethical conduct of business. These policies no only help the public, but also help in establishing customer confidence in small business, as well as shield small business from unscrupulous giant private business who conduct their business by violating the laws.

The United States is one of the biggest hubs of entrepreneur in the world. Why? Because with $35 anyone can start its own business and hire two or three employees or contractors without much of the paper work. In contrast, in Western Europe you need reference and bundle of documents to open a simple account. In such countries, opening a new business can be daunting. Strict policies don’t allow the employers to fire their employee even if the are impeding the growth of their new business. Therefore, less regulation in United States help small businesses to flourish fast and easily.

On the other hand, free market without government intervention can be disastrous. Should small business be allowed to sell “health cures” or baby seat without any safety test? – even if put burden on the small business. No compromise should be done on behalf of government when it comes to public safety. Government can help startups in developing confidence among public which in turn can help in establishing customer base. Sometimes like in huge business, employers are made to work more than 9 hours and are given lesser wage than the minimum wage decided as per law. Thus, government intervention is required for benefit of public as well as employers.

While essay ranges from minimal to moderate intervention of government. While some people argue that government should not interfere in the private business. If private business is selling some cosmetic without proper safety test, and consumer are willing to consume that product. Both parties can transact as per their wish. But in developed countries, government norms keep their public under safety from unethical business conduct.

How small business can thrive with the help of government? Sometimes government should back off and let the free to run their business. In free market many business will start, some will fail, whereas some will thrive. Appropriate amount of government intervention is required for public safety as well as for the small businesses to thrive.