Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business

matters.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In

developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples

that could be used to challenge your position.

Government has limited source on issues of local and private businesses. Some countries have an economy dependent on foreign investments with private businesses instead of dependent on national businesses. I agree with the statement that government should fund local businesses other than private and foreign capital based in order to have more independency in economy, low prices.

Firstly, governments should always be supporting to local businesses which have disadvantage of less market power and reputation since people rarely tend to experience new small brands. In the lightening of this, government should give subsidy small business for advertisements and distribution in order to spread their names, refinements and reach different places. Government should not give capitulation to large private business which have already cogent client groups. For an illustration, Turkish government in 1970 has started a subsidy policy in tin sector, until this point, this sector is immensely based on imports, following this policy has leaded to decrease in prices and dramatically cut in imports of tins, consequently a decrease in clothes followed this. This proves that national economy is bolstered against foreign private businesses with some interventions.

Secondly, high volume of local production get rid of a country from its bounds to foreign economies and gives incentive for more entrepreneurships. For example, KOBI fund in Turkey is a fund offered by banks for small business entrepreneurs which enable them to proceed their new economical ideas and predicted opportunities. This prevents high prices and manifested regulations connected to oligopolies of private firms, accordingly, economy enhances with new adaptive innovation in the aim of less costs and independence from abroad investments.

On the other hand, some private business has tremendous comparative advantage in some sectors due to their natural resources or acknowledged technical advancement so that it is reasonable to take into account for government budget. For instance, Russia has serious low costs in natural cost compared to other countries, hence, it is not apt to play minimal role in negotiation with these private firms.

In conclusion, all things considered, positive drawback of local small businesses exceed negative drawbacks, therefore, in the aim of improvement of economy, government should play minimal role and should not give priority to private business.