A recent study by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid sick leave

are 28 percent less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive

payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to

work during time of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are then spurred by impaired

judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications. The highest-risk occupations, such

as construction, showed the highest discrepancy between paid and unpaid leave.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine

whether the researchers’ hypothesis is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these

questions would have on the validity of the hypothesis.

The author provides with two pieces of evidence to support the research that workers with unpaid sick leaves, tend to go to work during illness and are more likely to be involved in work-related accidents. The results of study cannot be disputed – we must accept it as true, that those with paid sick leaves are significantly less likely to have work related accidents than those without sick leaves. We might, however question, whether the study was large enough to draw such a broad conclusion. Further, the study does not demonstrate causation: it does not tie incidence of work-related accidents to illness. While researcher’s study hypothesis one of the possibilities, more research should be performed so that other possibilities are eliminated and thus bolster the strength of the argument.

The largest leap in the argument is the assumption that those without paid sick leaves feel pressurized to work when ill. No evidence is provided to support this statement. In order to strengthen this part of the argument, the research should have made study of participants that they actual come to work when ill and why did they come to work if they were ill.

The researcher could have strengthened their argument by performing more same study on alternate data. For instance, are there difference between the two groups based on industry? For example: are hourly workers more likely to get unpaid sick leaves as compared to salaried workers? Are hourly workers more likely to engage in blue collar job or other manual occupations, where on job accident are more likely to happen? Which geographical location was considered while performing the study? Because geographical location can also make the study bias. Researcher’s hypothesis can be test if some more question can be answered.

While the argument presents an interesting hypothesis, but it lacks in providing evidence in support of it. First, at a basic level, whether existing data is statistically significant and sufficient. Finally, researcher need alternate data sources to examine all the possible cases and strengthen the claim. These steps might not be sufficient to establish the validity of the hypothesis. But it will help researchers in deteremining whether this research is worth the time, attention and funds.