"According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

In the memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company a recent report from marketing department state two piece of claims based on the report : One, number of people attending Super Screen Produced movies had decreased this year as compared to other years. Second, even after decreasing in number of people attending their movies, percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers have increased. Based on above claims, reports provide recommendation that quality of movie is not an issue but their is lack of public awarness about good quality movie and thus, next year huge amount should be invested in advertising.

In the above report, many questions are left answered. Such as, People demographucs are essential element of such surveys, questions like report represent people of which geographical region? Is awareness is the only issue or might be super screen produced are heavy on the pocket of viewers and thus less of people might watch it? Because if study was performed in sub-urban or rural areas and their might be a possiblity that people are lacking awareness or might be they are aware of good quality movies but such movie might be heavy for their pocket.

Other than demographics, report does not report any answers regarding questions like people's awarness about super - screen produced film? What is the criteria for rating a review as positive, negative or neutral? What is the reviews of people on quality of their movies? For instance, If reviewer says "Good" it might be meant to say 6 rating out of 10, but reporters might have interpreted it as 8 out of 10. It is a subjective call. List of questions asked when performing the study is not presented in the report.

Lack of stats is provided regarding the percentage change in people attending the super screen produced movies. Questions like , Percentage increased/ decreased in number of total review, or number of viewer is not answered. This answer will help the company in talking a stand on how much more or less budget is required in marketing.

To conclude,report pitfall is that it just recommend a huge amount of budget is required for advertising. Above stated questions will help in answering in which channel more budget is required, which type of audience to target.