Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and sup porting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is often said that school is our second home. The things one does not learn at the home are taught to students at school. This includes the non-academic aspects which help the students to become a responsible and a sensible human being in the coming future. Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood because some things learned at school are often strongly imbibed in the minds and eventually stay with them till the end.

Schools are the abode of education where the primary focus is to make the student well educated for a promising and bright future. But, if the schools do not take any part for making and teaching the students how to become a better human being the school somewhat deviates from their secondary agenda. Non-academic aspects encompass everything other than academics. The most important being the values of becoming a truly humble human being. For instance, in a comparison of two schools where in one school the students are taught the importance of values and one where the school primarily only focuses on the academics part, the janitor in the latter school does not get the respect because of the students’ thinking that that kind of work is not of a particular standard and hence the person doing that job does not deserve respect, whereas the other school students having a value education class daily know that each and every person is to respected irrespective of the person’s profession.

Nowadays, academics is not everything, a person when viewed in a society is deeply venerated if he is kind to everyone and has no hatred for any human being. In contrast, even a CEO of any multi-national company may not be respected for the person he is. For instance consider a person interviewing two graduates for a position in the company, he or she not only looks at the academic achievements but also other aspects and most importantly how that candidate treats others. This kind of things cannot be taught at college or corporate levels. These values need to be bombarded into the minds at very young age and that can be effectively done at the schools. Thus the schools play a major role in developing the non-academic aspects of adulthood in students.

However, the other angle from which the scenario can be looked at is that many schools may think that in the current market with so much competition in each and every field, the major part that is played in any individual’s success is of academics. The more informative and knowledgeable people will be able to cruise through the difficulties faced when one enters the real world. Rather than focusing more or providing more time for the non-academics aspect, the main aim of the schools would be to enhance the academics factors of the students which will help them to excel in their adult life.

However, this issue is a very complex one and no easy answers can reduce the intensity of the matter. Is the knowledge of a person more important than ones individual values that he or she lives by? The answer to this will vary from person to person. In the end an early preparation would certainly help the students if the schools do more for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.