Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight

The conclusion in the letter is that more investments should be made in unmanned space flights rather than the manned space expenditures. The writer provides with a piece of evidence citing the success of series of recent unmanned space probes and satellites to support his or her idea. However, there are many unstated assumptions which the writer has not taken into account or provided enough details about.

First of all, the letter states that manned flight is costly and dangerous. On what grounds is the assumption being made, is unknown. There is no concrete evidence or statistical data provided regarding the costs or any casaulties which might render the manned missions dangerous. There is a possibility that The cost for sending unmanned space probes and manned space flight is same or the difference is insignificant. The letter also mentions about the risks associated with manned space flight but there is no explicit mention about what are those risks. Are the risks life threatning? Are the risks only limited to modicum of nausea, headaches and minor illness? These minor issues can be cured easily. As such there is nothing in the letter which helps to prove that manned mission are in fact, costly and dangerous. This in turn, weakens the conclusion to provide more funds to unmanned space flights.

Secondly, what is the efficiency of unmanned space probes in comparison with manned space missions? There is only a single mention in the letter about gathering useful information from satellites and unmanned space probes. It is possible that the unmanned space probes are not capable of doing any extra work in case a new task comes up. The unmamned space probe will only work accoding to how it is programmed. However, if there are individuals present they can carry out the extra work required. There is no mention about which is better at coping up with the emergency situations or tasks that suddenly may come up. The manned space program may be better than unmanned space probes by a very significant difference in their efficiency. If such is the case then there is no harm in spending money on manned space flights to obtain even better and useful information. As a result, this again weakens the conclusion.

Finally, space is full of unknown debris floating around since indefinite time periods. What if such a part of debris may hit a certain are of the space probe and needs to repaired urgently. There may be some help provided so that the unmanned space probe can repair itself. But there is a possibility that the debris hits and damages a part which the unmanned space probe is not able to repair itself. In such situations manned space flights have upper hand as the astronaut present can go and repair the damage. The unmanned space probe will be a waste if such a mishap is to occur. And on the other, by spending more money on manned space flights the mission is still going on and is not a waste. The conclusion does not hold merit if the assumption comes true.

As of now, because of a serious dearth of evidences, facts and statistical data, the conclusion stands flawed. If the writer of the letter is able to provide with much more irrefutable and concrete evidences, it would help to bolster the conclusion. And in turn would help to secure more investments and fund foe unmanned space flights in coming future.