"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is true that there a new emerging leaders every now and then. But only some of these people can be successful while others may not reach the point where they once aimed to be. The successful ones are the people who do not indulge in competition rather strive hard to co-operate with other. I mostly agree with the claim that co-operation sense should be instilled into the younsters and not a sense of competition.

First of all, co-operation is the key to every problem which faces internal or minor disinsensions. By being co-operative people understand the how to work together in harmony with other while maintaining their individual identities. Everyone in the organization or political parties and various other fields follow their leader. Some do it willingly while others do it unwillingly. A person is called a righteous leader only if his or her followers are stalwart. While co-operating with others would help each and everyone to grow and is mostly a win-win situation for both the co-operating parties, competition on other hand only focuses on how to come out as a victor. Consider for example, a two prominent candidates of the same political party engage in a competition to become the leader of the same, it would not only hurt them but the entire party on a whole. If by means of co-operation they can easily reconciliate and decide who will become the leader, it will be innocuous for everyone. Co-operation focuses on working together, while competition focuses on individual growth disregarding the interests of others.

Secondly, the idea of being co-operative sounds beneficial to all. If the values of being competetive is instilled in the young minds, they will follow the same throughout until the end. The best example of being co-operative can be given is that of the co-operation between the leaders of the different countries all around the world. Every nation wants to improve its economical situation. For this trades between nations take place internationally. If one of the leaders between two co-operating nations would be adamant on having a competition and in doing so would cut off the ties for trade with other nations since it would benefit them also, the outcome of this would not be propitious. This shows that co-operation on a broad scale has a much bigger impact than being competetive and so leaders would do better by co-operating rather than by being competetive. Young people are at an age where their minds could be shaped correctly and so shaping it correctly is the duty of the society by making them co-operative.

However, as there is always two sides to a coin, so does this claim. Ruling out competition is not entirely a brilliant choice. A leader who is unsure about his own abilities and is ineffective when it comes to taking decisions is of little use. This abilities and skills of acumen can only be sharpened with competitions. A competition with self. Competeting with oneself provides growth in ones character which cannot be done by any other means. Competitive sense in a small amount is necessary for individual growth also. But the important thing would be to compete fairly and not by being unfair. A leader who will only seem to co-operate and would not focus for the improvements in his or her organisation would make the progress come to a standstill.

In the end, it is not possible to provide with easy answers to the claim. With wavering thoughts and opinions, the issue seems to be of a complex nature. However, the best quality in a leader that can be instilled is of competetive nature by being co-operative which would focus on development of each and everyone including the competitors.