The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the efficacy of the city council’s proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the council’s prediction.

The author in the above article concludes that all the incandescent bulbs of the city should be replaced by the LEDs. The switch would be eventually made when the former would burn out. He or she bolsters the idea by providing some general advantages of the LEDs. However, there are many unwarranted reasons which are not taken into account and which question the credibility of the author’s conclusion.

Firstly, who is the major contributor among all the electrical equipments in the city which account for the maximum percentage of electricity bills? The author has assumed that the incandesc...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.