The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the efficacy of the city council’s proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the council’s prediction.

Town X's city council has proposed that to reduce the electric expenses they will replace the incandescent bulbs to LEDs as the LEDs cost around the same and are brighter than incandescent bulbs. If the LEDs are similar in cost then there is little incentive to switch and if they are brighter this says nothing about the power savings. The council has overlooked many deeper issues in the proposal which might weaken it.

The proposal is based on the fact that switching to LEDs will definitely lead to power savings, however, it fails to mention anything about the differences in the amount of electricity saved when both the incandescent bulbs and LEDs are utilized for the same amount of time. If it turns out that the LEDs consume more electricity to operate then the proposal is significantly weakened as any advantage offered by LEDs (like brighter light emission) would not make up for the cost of utilizing them in the long run.

The proposal also mentions nothing about the ruggedness or the failure rate of the LEDs in comparison to the incandescent bulbs. If the LEDs have a higher failure rate or if they are prone fail in inclement weather then this will seriously weaken the city council’s proposal as even if the LEDs save electricity, in the long run the cost of higher failure rate will surpass any power savings.

A light source must be easily repaired or replaced in case of any failure. A LED being a sophisticated technology might pose significant challenges in repairing or replacing the affected bulb. A LED also has a lot of electronic components and usually has multiple LEDs in arrays to provide the same output as the incandescent bulb. If a few LEDs fail in the bulb then the efficacy will be greatly reduced and replacing or repairing them will be a costly affair. If the above argument holds true the proposal is significantly weakened.

Although the council’s proposal seems well thought out at first glance, further analysis proves that it seems to have overlooked several questions that would seriously weaken it. LED's long term power savings or its ruggedness or even its repairability in comparison to incandescent bulbs can have strong impact on the power savings. The city council can research further into these topics to strengthen their proposal.