Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Every corporation should operate on the principle of equivalent exchange, i.e. if you reap benefits from the society and the environment you should care for them as well. The prompt states that some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate, I somewhat agree with that for the following three reasons.

A paper mill which mows down millions of trees will do irreparable damage to the environment around it unless it takes care of the environment is operating in. Trees are the lungs of the earth and help in regulating the oxygen level of the atmosphere as well as maintaining the monsoon cycle. Any corporation that damages the environment for its own profit must help in restoring in simultaneously. For example, a paper mill may plant a tree for each one it cuts down. This will ensure that the balance is maintained in the long run.

A corporation should focus on generating jobs for the society they operate in. They can easily hire cheap labour from other countries or move production to places with cheap labour but doing so would not help in improving the social image of the company nor the economy of the society. Generating jobs will improve the economic status of the society. Many studies have proven that economic stability is strongly linked to the well being of individuals, a happy and healthy society will also be better employees and consumers of the products that the corporation creates.

Corporations with wealth and power should use them to eradicate the plagues that infest society. For example corporations like Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation perform an admirable job to eradicate various diseases and poverty from many backwards areas of the world. Many third world countries still don't have access to clean water, food and shelter. These are the basic necessities to sustain life and corporations should share the wealth and resources with the society to make this world a better place.

Some may argue that these responsibilities are not what a corporation should deal with and that a corporation should be for profit only. I somewhat agree with this, thumb rule of capitalism is that the revenue generated eventually is for the greater good. It grows the market and uplifts the general economic status of everyone. However, this should not be used as an excuse by the corporations to ignore all moral responsibilities for the well being of the society or environment. Every corporation must operate on the principle of equivalent exchange.