Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The author contends that society should help children who have special talents, to nurture it from inchoate stages only. I personally do not concur with the author's contention. However, to substantiate my point of view this essay will elaborate my reasons.

It is often quipped "you become what you think", i.e. your destiny is in your hand, if a child believes in himself and have that urge to pursue his interests, there is no need for the society to help him unearth his talents. Claim demands society to nurture child's talent, it is just an external factor. The one with the talent and determination does not get affected by these kind of issues.

Moreover, suppose we give this authority of nurturing child's talent but, what is the guarantee that they will see the talent accurately. Society is made of people like you and me and there are high chances that we commit mistake in identifying skills of child. For example: society or say even child's family might mistakenly thinks that their child is performing exemplary in mathematics, and divert him towards mathematics but, it may be the case that he is good at maths but he loves dancing. We are humans and we have to understand that we might commit mistakes and hence, we keep a safe distance from this decision making process and only guide children instead of goading children to pursue what you think is his talent.

Society is qualified; society can only percieve what it sees through its eyes and listens with its ears. Society only knows few professions and talents of myriad of talents in the world and hence would be able to categorize children in those categories only. For example - if say there is kid in a rural area of India, where people are not well educated. If a child there find paper craft fascinating his parents wouldn't allow him to pursue his interests just because parents thinks its pointless. Hence, society might not know what is right and wrong for a kid especially when its a point of kid's inclination.

Society being partisan may promote a particular profession or may help only those kids who "they" think are talented. this might firstly, act as a barrier to child's ambition. For example: say if a boy wants to perform a dance form named Kathak normally pursued by girls. His parents and so called society might try to discourage him, if they knew about his inclination. Lastly, we might also work other way around i.e. by discovering the interests of child and stopping it if they do not fit into the society's architecture.

There is also a silver lining to this dark cloud named society. There might some cases where society played a very good role in promoting and developing kid's talent. But this is completely contingent on several factors as stated above.