In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The author here tries to establish a direct relationship between imaginative literature and overall development of a human being in general. I do not concur with the author's claim and would clear my stance in succeeding paragraphs.

Firstly, author established a direct link, the world is not binary, the claim needs deep introspection. overall development is shaped by multiple varied factors and not just on art and literature. it is true that imaginative literature helps college students to develop lateral thinking and help them in pondering in a different direction and might provide them with different viewpoints, but considering only one factor in order to make individuals all-rounder is imprudent. The claim itself is contradictory as at point author is stating about over all development and on the next point states that only one factor matters for over-all development. All-rounder needs to be good in every aspect of life. By providing students the novels and imaginative literature they might be able to think out of the box, but for example- things like socializing with others and many other aspects of life needs different approaches.

Secondly, a student who is diffident might not be good in socializing or mixing with others and analogously there are different aspects in one's life in which he/she is lacking. we cannot generalize the needs of every student and fix an approach. As it is said each and every student is unique and hence, all require different methods to improve themselves.

Furthermore , it is true that today's world is a world of those who are good at thinking out of the box and have strong imagination skills, but it is well said that, "logic without creativity is just prosiac and dreaming without logic is just day dreaming." we need to understand that we require both critical as well as creative thinking. hence, along with imaginative literature other activities like Self-defence training and Yoga is equally important.

Lastly, as I mentioned above each and every student is unique and hence each have different ways to think. hence, by just stating that imaginative literature would promote overall development is not true. For example- a student might get imaginative ideas when he sees documentaries or say when he/she is playing football, it all depends on them(the students). we cannot generalize it.