In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The transition from the vacillating time period at school to the more clearer state of mind during college is what makes all the difference in the extent of restrictions being placed on the students in regard to the academic curriculum. As students approach the more specialized tenure of college, their thought process becomes more organized as to what in this world full of opportunities interests them the most. Hence, on very conspicuous grounds, I would like to disagree to the premise provided above that a restriction should be placed on college students to undertake a variety of courses which might not be related to their field of study.

First of all, I would like to argue that college is the time when students begin pursuing their interests with passion and zeal. Employing a significant number of excessive courses would rather be dilatory than beneficial. A student who is ecstatic to have discovered his hidden love for engineering and robotics and has already started putting his mind into how coding works, studying Leanardo Da Vinci’s complex prose and poetry would put him off completely. In fact, he might find it abstruse which would result in lowering down his overall grade. While aiming to make them well-rounded individuals, we would be restraining them from joining the work force as early as possible. Moreover, adding so many more compulsory subjects to the curriculum would indeed cause a significant rise in the cost of study, possibly unmanageable for some.

A pragmatic way out in this case would be to have elective courses at the dispensation of students. This way, students would be free to opt for other courses that interest them without being under a limitation from the college authorities. Apart from those quintessential subjects stated in the premise, college could even have a few subjects related to sports and exercise. Afterall, physical well-being and fitness also contributes to the making of well-rounded individuals.

However, going with my standpoint might result in some students being at a disadvantage such as those who decide not to go for literature and poetry subjects will lack complexity and range of vocabulary in their spoken and written language. Nevertheless, I think they still stand a chance of being equally successful as others since their fields of interest might not even require that kind of complex use of language. Take the example of this very GRE, some graduate schools such as one related to communicative disorders, focus on the verbal measure while others such as the ones based on engineering require a better quantitative score. So either-or strategy won’t really prove to be detrimental.

Summing it all up, if the word “required” was supplanted with “encouraged”, the aforementioned issue would have been more pragmatic and I would have embraced it as a wise cause.