The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news pro-gram have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news pro-grams and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The argument provided by the business manager in his memorandum is rife with holes and so arises the need for further unequivocal evidence to be provided in order for the argument and thus its conclusion to be deemed cogent.

Firstly, when the manager reports about the frequent complaints that were recently recieved by the the television station, what he mentions is the titles of the segments the complaints were related to and nothing more than that. If the grievances of viewers were related to the curtailed time period for local news and weather coverage, then this piece of information would surely bolster the argument. But what if the complaints addressed the credibility of the news sources which were quoted during those two news segments under consideration? This would then take the matter in an entirely opposite direction whereby it might be better to look into other more important matters, keeping the issue of the decreased allotted time aside.

In addition to this, the memorandum only points at the grave issue of cancellation of advertising contracts without trying to identify the cause behind it. Instead of arbitrarily linking this issue to the decrease in the devoted time period for local news and weather, it would be quite beneficial to investigate about the matter and dig deep to find out the actual reason leading to the cancellation of contracts. It might just be possible that the cause is what the business manager is pointing to, but when there is no sufficient evidence at hand, then this kind of an abstract relationship would hold no ground. For instance, what if the host of the late night news program was recently switched and the newly appointed host isn't able to grab the positive attention of the viewers, as a consquence of which the ratings for the program significantly went downhill. Such a trend might have compelled the advertising agencies to withdraw their contracts, if true.

If solid evidences were provided for the aforementioned claims through careful observation and investigation, it might have held much more of a ground.