The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The claim provided above targets two extremely fundamental building blocks of the society while aiming to promote one with full force and suppressing the other. This would create a disbalance in the society as both these values are essential on their own standing. Therefore, I embrace the promotion of cooperation with open hands but disagree with the clause that the sense of competition should be sidelined.

To begin with, for a society to flourish and bloom, coherence and a sense of cooperation between its people plays a vital role. Until the discrete scattered units in a society will come together, unite and form one large powerful unit, one can not expect the society to achieve something great. Since taking the society forward requires an ultimate form of teamwork, its team members which basically are the ones residing in that community need to display affection, respect and cooperation for eachother.

Nevertheless, when pondering over the role of competition, the realization hits hard that it plays a massive role as well. For instance, when an athlete in a race loses with just a margin of one lap, he will put in an excessive effort and time in the training before the next race and he might actually manage to secure a win this time. That inner drive which led him to that important win was competition. In every walk of life, having a sense of competition and to do better paves the path for success. While on contrary, if this sense of competition is outright supressed, then a sense of complacency might prevail in the society which could eventually take it downhill.

Nevertheless, one could argue that promoting this sense of competition might turn out to be detrimental and stir up negative sentiments like rage and aversion among the people of the society. Surely, this posssible consequence can not be denied but here comes the role of attaining the crucial balance between these two entirely different societal values.

In conclusion, instead of completely marginalizing competition and promoting cooperation, what the society needs in order to climb the peaks of success, is a proper balance between the two.