The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the rec-ommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above mentioned memo aims to establish a direct relationship between the lack of propagation of reviews and the decreased viewership of the Super Screen- produced movies. This relation could possibly hold waters but since their is a paucity of solid evidence, the whole claim seems to be rife with holes.

To begin with, when the director reports the decrease in the viewership of the movies, it is vital to state the statistics as to how much decrease was seen from the previous years. Was it really significant or did the report just mention a decrease of 5%? Did the number of theathers where the movies are screened remained constant as compared to the other years or did they by any chance get decreased? This information would play a massive impact in solidfying or weakening the argument.

In addition, when it is reported that an increase in positive reviews was observed, the question arises related to the credibility of the movie reviewers. Are the reviewers well-known and credible in the eyes of the general public or are they the ones whose reviews are not paid heed to? If it is the latter, then even if there is an increase in reviews, it still can't be expected to make a positive difference. Moreover, again the data for increase in reviews needs to be stated so as to prove that the reviews significantly increased.

Lastly, before being complacent towards the quality of movies on the basis of this arbitrary relationship that is drawn, the production company should conduct surveys and investigation to find out the root cause of this decreased viewership. This would direct them to fix the actual issues and consequently, boost their revenue once again.

Summing it up, until the questions highlighted above aren't answered and no light is shed on the missing evidence, this relationship that is established would remain abstract and baseless.