A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Academic curriculum plays a massive part in polishing the most valuable asset of a nation- its new generation- who in the near future, will have all the capacity to either make their nation loud and proud or let it go down the road of darkness. The premise provided above instantly diverts my train of thoughts to the country where I belong and how this seemingly naïve issue has drawn a solid line differentiating between those who attend schools following the state curriculum versus those rather privileged ones who are studying under the Cambridge International Examinations curriculum. Quite upsetting of an inspiration it is, nevertheless makes me agree to the claim that a nation should restrict all state schools to follow a national curriculum promoting a consistent kind of education until it is required to become more specialized at the college level.

Taking Pakistan as an example, strong sense of discrimination exists when two or more academic curriculums are being followed in the same country, each of which is operating on entirely different set of principles, teaching strategies and even coursework from the remaining lot. This then leads to the more advanced curriculum, which in the case of Pakistan is CIE, being clearly prioritized over the other curriculums including the state curriculum. Students of CIE end up grabbing seats in top-notch universities and even better job opportunities than the remaining students.

Moreover, apart from the materialistic gains, we can not doubt the vitality of self-esteem in making or breaking a student’s career and even personality at whole. When the society constantly is trumpeting the greatness of the foreign curriculum and how those students are sharper and more quick-witted, you cannot realistically expect the self-image of the other group to remain intact. This inferiority complex then passively serves to erode their personality and zeal to succeed.

However, when embracing this premise with open hands, one important situation comes to my mind where this restriction would be detrimental to the students instead of benefiting them. That is in the case of those children who exhibit special needs in order to cope up with life such as students who present with dyslexia, dyscalculia, or are may be on the spectrum. To cater the needs of this group, it is quite essential for the curriculum to be modifiable so as to ensure academic success for this small but nevertheless equally important group of children.

Summing it all up, circumscribing the school policies in regard to the curriculum followed would definitely serve to build a sense of unity and harmony among the younger generation but leaving a margin of flexibility in special cases is quintessential as well.