In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

Author claim “In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature”, in my opinion would burden students to acquire lot of things at a time. As specified to become well-rounded individuals, students had acquire basic knowledge in schools thus enforcing them to study those courses in details might dissuade them to achieve success in field of their interest. Following are the reasons for my discordance towards author’s claim.

Firstly, In schools, students are inculcate with enough knowledge that allow them to discern or construe the world around them. Thus, providing in-depth the knowledge about imaginative literature would not be wise as students need to invest their time in such courses which doesn’t have any implication on their jobs. Students also faced problems while tackling with lots of courses specially science and engineering fields who are already imparted with other core subjects and have no link with these imaginative literature. Consider an example, A computer engineer who have profound knowledge about programming languages thus he/she would invest more time in learning such imaginative courses instead of spending time after his/her interest.

Secondly, Author claims might holds true as such imaginative literature improvise imaginative skills in individuals but here there are other core subjects like physics and chemistry which are sufficient enough to instill imaginative skills. In physics, students need to virtually understand the different forces acting on different state of objects same way in chemistry the bonds between various atoms, elements are conjured virtually. Thus, such subjects are plenary enough to make students imaginative. Many might argue about the knowledge poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature provides and partly such notion holds importance in one’s life but such knowledge are inculcated in students in schools only. where wide range of courses are provided like social studies, literature, science, etc. Thus, college students should be allowed to learn courses of their interest.

Thirdly, For students college is very important as in college they learn intricate and minute details about their field of study which prepares them for the corporate world. Thus, college should offer students their field of interest and dissuade them to study courses that will not contribute in their careers. In such case enforcing such imaginative literature would become onerate for students which have no importance on their career.

On wrapping up, Though, imaginative literature are important for a student but making it compulsory in college would hamper students in contribute their full in their field of interest and such courses one can acquire in spare time are college. Thus, Colleges should provided courses that in interest of students and make them ready for their jobs instead of enforcing them to study other courses of trivial influence in their field.