Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Author’s claim “Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free”, in my opinion is valid as Formal education constrains the viewpoints of students and direct them to follow the path that will lead to successful life and job career. Following are the reasons for my accordance with the author.

Firstly, Formal education consists of examinations, homework, etc. in which student get whirled up. In formal education students is been taught to score good points or grades as to get good jobs and this very notion inhibits their minds and spirit to act freely. Instead of questioning every theory or hypothesis, students start to accept it as a fact. Formal education sometimes also inhibit the real learning process, as students in race to achieve good scores, rote up many topics that are very important in one’s life. In current scenario, the only goal of students has become is to get secure and good job so that they can live lavish life. This thought had hindered students to become knowledgeable. Thus, Schools or universities should educate students by instilling the curiosity among students, allow students to unravel the complex nature of world because these basic actions taken by schools or university will make them more practical and knowledgeable. Students will really start living their life and construing the surrounding around them.

Secondly, Thomas Edison, a scientists who have made more than thousand inventions had been dropout from schools. Through experiments he had able to achieve such success. Formal education taught students to learn from the mistakes of others and follow the path of successful person. It hobble students to make mistakes and learn from their own mistakes and encourages to step in foots of successful person. There are many more examples which accords with author’s claim like Einstein, he was also dropout from school and castigated by many professors because of his poor performance in schools. But today we know him as a most intelligent person in the world. His brain is also kept for study. Making mistakes is as important as getting successful.

Thirdly, Formal education discourages students in taking risks in their life, they encourage them to follow smooth roads, but such notion have underestimated that the most successful person is the person who had taken many risks in his/her carrier. Risks is important factor in making oneself stand out from others and in achieving name and fame. Risks makes person audacious and allow him/her to unleash unknown, follow the path that had never been traveled. Consider an example, Bill gates, who is very well known for introducing Microsoft products. His father was a great lawyer and wanted his son to join law school. If Bill gates had not taken risks of going in computer science field, would he able to come up with Microsoft?

On wrapping up, Formal education had restrained students minds and spirit in order to make them successful, but there are many disadvantages in providing formal education as it squelch the curiosity behavior of students and also impede them to take risks in their life and learn from their mistakes.