In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or women as a hero

Author claim “In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or women as a hero”, in my opinion holds credence as due to easy availability and accessibility of the information, people learn about the real character/behavior about their heroes and media also in pace of making profits, pry on the private life of those heroes and let people to distinguish reel and real behavior of the heroes. I would like to show accordance towards the author claim. Following are the reasons for my accordance.

Firstly, Consider an example of the great legend Lance Armstrong, he was capable to motivate people and influence them through his perseverance by setting an example to fight for life. He had fought with cancer, which was considered as very severe disease at his times. He had also able to captivate people through his innovations and from an age of 10-50 people considered him as their role model or hero. But after coming across the bitter truth about him consuming drugs have had great impact on people as they no more considered him as their hero. This example aptly address the author’s claim. People set some code of conduct and hope that their role model will follow that code of conduct. But due to media, people come to know their real behavior which might not abide with their expectations and such cause might instill hatred and anger among people for their role model.

Secondly, Today’s media coverage also includes many fabricated news. Due to increase competition among various news channels and in order to attract large mass, they dupe with the truth and try to present news in such a way that might arouse debates, controversy among people. In order to profits they interpret certain truths in such a way which might create envy, hatred among people for their heroes. Today, media holds such powers that if they want they can destroy one’s career. People unquestioningly accept the news presented by news and this hobble people to consider any living person as their hero.

However, Media is boon and well as curse. Media coverage not only make people aware about their hero’s flaws but also enlighten them with the positive side of their behavior. Consider an example, Bill Gates, Steves Jobs, Sachin Tendulkar, etc. are heroes for many people and media coverage have played important role in edifying people about their good deeds. Would people came to known about Bill Gates donating large amount of money to a charity, if media coverage doesn’t disseminate such news? Would people able to acknowledge Sachin Tendulkar as best cricketer, if media coverage doesn’t enlighten people about his contribution towards cricket? Thus, Media coverage helps people to choose their heroes.

On wrapping up, Media coverage in today’s scenario plays vital role, it makes people aware about the true behavior of their heroes and author’s claim about media coverage hampering society to choose living man or women as their hero is true if society is not flexible enough to ignore some flaws of their heroes and consider his/her goods deeds while considering him/her as a hero.