The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Author concluded that by restricting water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex would increase profits. To justify the conclusion, author provided the case when such restrictions were implemented in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers and stated that except few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported and money would be less charged for each month as water flow is restricted. Such evidence notifies that by restricting the water in all twelve buildings would result in more profits. I found author’s argument unconvincing and lends little credence in support of conclusion.

Firstly, Author stated that first three building of Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow. Here author have implemented such restriction on only three building and on the basis of result obtained from such experiment, author assumed that same thing will also hold for other buildings in Sunnyside Towers complex. It might happen that those three buildings are the buildings who doesn’t waste water or have less water usage and thus restricting such water limits would not affect them. As author have also not provided that water usage before and after the adjustment, author cannot assume that the change would be profitable.

Secondly, Author stated that only few complaints were registered related to water and no complaints with showers have been recorded. It might happen that those three buildings residents are not one who register complaints about unavailability or their daily practices doesn’t involve much water. Is such is case, author assumption that other residents will not complain and in turn low water flow would result in profit is dubious. Author should provide statistical data about the residents will react to such adjustment. It might happen that author due to large number of complaints from residents have to undone the adjustments. If such would be case than it will incur great loss to author.

Thirdly, Author further stated that such change would led to profit but such statement would become wrong if the charge for water each month increases. And author also have presumptuously assumed that by adjusting water flow in showerheads to one-third of what it used to be will reduce water usage. It might happen that water usage in shower is low compared to other activities like gardening, washbasin, cooking, etc. Thus, author assumption that by reducing showerhead waterflow would reduce the water usage is unwarranted.

In conclusion, I found author’s argument unpersuasive. In order to strengthen the argument, author should ensure that first three building residents are the ones who complains about their suffering and their daily practices incur high water usage. Author should also provide statistical data about the responses of other residents towards such adjustment and also should also ensure that in long future the rate of water per month would not increase. To better evaluate the argument author should ensure that residents of Sunnyside Towers complex use more water in showering than doing other activities.