Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

There are many games prevalent in different countries and each country have it’s own national games eluding some exception where fan club for different games are almost equal. I would like to concede with author that sports is better way in easing international tensions but author have overlooked certain situations while stating the safe nature of releasing patriotic emotions through sports. Following are the reasons for my belief.

Firstly, Today large amount of money are divested in sports sector due to it’s popularity and sports is also considered means through which international tensions are mollified. For example, India and Pakistan are not in good terms and spite among both nations is being carried on from long time. However, in playground both the teams of nation keep aside their anger or hatred and compete with each other peacefully. Such example aptly illustrates how sports can help nations to ease tensions. Both country fans come together to cheer their team. Secondly, Olympics is events which held every four year and players from almost all countries participate in events. Thus, such events really help different countries to work together to make an event successful. Thus, it would not be wrong to say that international sporting help countries to ease tensions going on between countries.

However, sports is not the safe way of releasing patriotic emotions because people watching sports became so zealous and if for whatsoever reason, team or player fail to win, people’s of losing nation start showing their violence by berating opposing team or player.

On wrapping up, Sport do alleviate international tensions going on between countries as it provide platform to work together but sometimes sports have instead exacerbate the situation/tension between countries.