Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Author’s claim “Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people”, in my opinion is too elusive claim as any research area cannot be categorized into beneficial categories unless results are not obtained. Following are the reasons for my discordance towards author’s claim.

Firstly, How can any research areas be categorized into most beneficial category unless and until research results are not available. Consider for example, The great scientist, Sir Isaac Netwon when discovered fall of apple downwards, would one able to discern it out that such notion would be beneficial?, in my opinion, no, as after unleashing forces responsible for such free fall and making people aware about the gravitational force. People cherished Sir Isaac Netwon for his discovery.

And it is common sense that unless we are not aware about the results how one can categorize unknown results.

Secondly, Even if people consider limiting scientists and other researchers work domain as prudent choice. The big question arises about who would make such decisions regarding their work domain? Would it be wise to leave such important decisions in the hands of few? and even if such decisions are foist on few hands, would they able to determine what is beneficial for people and what is not? Those authorities might get swayed by their wants as people’s wants. If such would be the case than the author claims about making scientists and researchers to research in areas which is likely to benefit large number of people would be unwarranted.

Thirdly, In research fields, passion and perseverance is required to achieve success and by checking the areas of research might deter many researchers and scientists to work zealously or to put their 100%. Such action might also hamper discoveries and innovations. Consider for example, If Sir Einstein was forced to not work after theory of relativity as it doesn’t benefits the people, people would not get enlighten about such concepts and in my opinion, there is no research area which is not worth excavating. Each and every field have something to offer to human life it might be some unknown facts or it can be as useful as air-flight.

On wrapping up, Scientists and researchers should allow to work in field of their interest and passion and determination is important to achieve success and by confining the domain of study might not accord with their passion. Instead of limiting their domain of work, government should provide incentives to researchers and scientists like funding their research work, other accommodations, etc. to actually expedite the research work.