Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Author’s claim that “Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application” and for validating claim Author posits that it is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty, In my opinion, author’s claim holds some merit as research is itself is an immediate activity and researcher should not immured their research work in certain areas, If researcher do so, he/she might fail to make striking discoveries. Following are the reasons for my accordance with the author.

Firstly, considering current scenario, Each and every field is obscure enough, so that researchers can discover something novel or putting it in other way, each and every field has something to offer. Consider a situation, if newton has confined his investigations to areas that doesn’t include the ‘physics’, did he able to come up with gravitational law? Thus researchers should be more concerned about their ideas instead of the area. The process of confining will lead to obviating the talent of researchers.

Secondly, on what basis researcher will decide the areas that will lead to immediate and practical discovery? Thus, researcher instead of confining their area of discovery should follow their notions, which will ultimately result into success. By confining areas of research works, researcher may elude making most important discovery of their life. Researchers should be allowed to perform their discoveries in their predilection areas, even though their discoveries may fail to contribute towards ameliorating social and economic problems prevailing in society.

Thirdly, if Government limits the field of researcher, so that their discoveries can have good impact on people lives, should elude taking such steps. Government should not consider discoveries as a medium for betterment of people lives because discoveries also enlighten people about existence of past life, behaviors of extinct creatures, and many more. Consider an example, if government have forced researchers to work in areas that can help making people lives better, would Copernicus would able to correct people about the notion of earth revolution around the sun or would people would able to know about the certain phenomenon which results into existence of such life on earth. Every discovery holds some importance in one’s life it may be practical or theoretical.

On wrapping up, Government should take various initiatives to promote the research work held by researchers instead of confining their work areas. Researches should not be impetus about making immediate discoveries by confining their research work area instead should follow their predilection that can lead to making striking discoveries.