Some people believe that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Others believe that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those that will help prepare them for jobs in their chosen fields.

Universities are key foundation to any student’s success and thus its universities responsibility to know the student’s interest and prepare them. Here first part of author’s claim seems to be valid as student should have knowledge about more than one field, if he/she want to make advancement in any field whereas second part of author’s claims is little general as in the world of changing demands, one would not able to define the courses that are sufficient enough to make one ready for job. Following are some of the reasons which will validate my above statements.

Firstly, considering current scenario, Fields are not plenary enough so that one can make advancement without getting knowledge and experience of other field. From research to developing, one needs to have knowledge of more than one field. For example, Einstein, who had come up with relativity theory, which requires the knowledge of fields like space, time, mathematics, and many more. If Einstein doesn’t have knowledge about space, had he able present relativity theory? Not only in research if we consider current most exciting fields like Artificial intelligence, In which currently people are working on developing robots which can imitate human being. Developing robots require knowledge of many fields like electronics for deciding whether circuits needed to be developed or should be used from existing circuits and if to be used from existing circuits then which circuits should be used, Computer science for providing intelligence to robot using programming, mechanical engineering for building the parts of robot such that robot can move those parts just like human do. In companies also employees are expected to have more skills. Thus Universities should imbue students with basic knowledge of all the streams that are necessary.

Secondly, Claiming that universities should only be focused on preparing their students for job is not valid, though universities have some responsibilities towards their students but that doesn’t mean that they should make their students job-oriented. Considering jobs, the jobs requirement are not stable they are changing based on the demands of people, thus universities should focus on providing their students with all basic knowledge that will allow their students to thrive with such changing demands.

However, it is universities responsibility to know their students strength and weakness and make them capable to fit in any job position. While deciding the courses to be offered to their student, one should keep in mind that courses decided should not be too overwhelming for student and provide them sufficient knowledge so that they are able to strive in this competing world.

On wrapping up, universities should provide their students enough knowledge that can allow them to excelling in any work.