The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter from a central plaza store owner recommending that city should prohibit skateboarding in central plaza and in support of the claim owner points out that in past two years, number of shoppers in central plaza have reduced while the popularity of skateboarding has shown increase. He also states that there was dramatic increase in amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, by prohibiting the skateboarding in central plaza people will start shopping again and ultimately will result, business in central plaza return to its previous high levels. On close introspection, owners claim seems specious.

Firstly, owner of central plaza claims that reduce in number of shoppers in central plaza is due to increase in popularity of skateboarding. If might not be the case, there might be some others reasons for such reduction in shoppers in central plaza like people became jaded of shopping or there is another store which offers same product with some benefits that central plaza store is being offering. Thus, prohibiting skateboarding can lead to further loss.

Secondly, owner claims that dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza is because of increase in number of skateboards users in plaza. It might be wrong as their might be other reasons for such increase like the dustbins in central plaza are not be cleaned regularly leading to increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza or it might happen that in past two years, people are not being careful in disposing the waste in dustbin. In such cases, prohibiting skateboarding will not lead to reduce in amount of litter and vandalism.

Finally, Owner claims that increase in skateboarding in central plaza is main factor people abandoning shopping vice versa might be true. As skateboarding require more space and due to reduce in people shopping in central plaza store, number of skateboarders have increased.

The argument presented by owner is flawed, to strengthen argument, owner should provide firm evidence that there is no other store in competition is succeed in enticing people, skateboarding people are responsible for increase in litter and vandalism and skateboarding is the only factor resulting into decrease of shoppers in central plaza store.