Some people believe that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Others believe that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those that will help prepare them for jobs in their chosen fields.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The author of the prompt posits two contradict viewpoints toward the students’ course schedule during their study period at the university. As mentioned, some groups of the people believe that student should oblige to take courses from the various field even irrelevant ones to their future major. On the other hand, another group feels the students should only focus on their major and select the courses related to their job. In this issue, at the two first paragraphs I will discuss these two perspectives separately, then in the last paragraph, I will mention to my attitude toward the issue.

As far as the first point of views is concerned to advocate the broad syllabus of for the university students. The considered reason for this viewpoint could be the preparation of the well-educated workforce for the future. Since the majority of the current vacations are interdisciplinary courses which links the various types of the job together. According to the noteworthy refreshingly intelligible statics released by recent statistical research conducted in our university METU, the sixty percent of the scientific works at the future decade will cover at least the two fundamental courses to be responsible for the scientific processes at the future. According to this statistic, the requirement of the well-educated student who possesses the knowledge over the various fields simultaneously will be a proper candidate for this kind of job. Consequently, depending on the one course for the preparation of the students could not be effective for this kind of jobs.

On the other hand, another group argues that the student should deepen their knowledge on the specific field instead of the broader the variety. The reason could be the tough schedule for the students. Since during the 4 years, they ask to cover the huge list of the courses which are an arduous task, and if this task does not relate to their future work, all those effort and time will be useless.

I should say that my attitude largely concurs with the first group. First of all, from my point of view, the reasons for which the first group relies on to support their opinion are sensible and plausible. Secondly, besides the assumed reason in the first paragraph, the multi-perspective personality is more important of the preparation for the future job. From my perspective, the workers’ personality is as effective as the ability and skill for the job. Indeed, as the person is focused on the solely one topic gained the one-direction personality and suffer the lots of shortage of at another perspective. However, the multi-direction person has this ability to show his or her best function in various fields. And this attitude is achievable by the various courses he or she attended. For instance, I believe that every engineering or medicine student should take at least one or two courses in the field of art to get an artistic view. In this case, that person during his or her real working situation will have an extra outlook toward the issue which is beyond his or her mechanical and medical perspective; which could be considered as the advantage for him or her.