In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Author’s claim “In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people”, in my opinion holds credence as until and unless people will not able to understand the emotions of the artists in the arts they might able to acknowledge it to an expected level. Following are reasons for my accordance towards the author’s claim.

Firstly, Many novels, movies, poem, or songs are written by artists with some social message which he/she want other people to acknowledge. If in such case, a layman is not able to construe the social message imbibe in work of art, then the main motto after the work of art would not get fulfilled. One might argue that work of arts cannot be categorized into having merit or not having merit as in work of art, artists true emotions are represented. Here author have not define merit if merit implicates the translucent nature of art i.e. anyone layman or novice artists can understand the work of arts.

Secondly, Artists also create work of art to motivate people, to provide strength to people, etc. If people not able to understand the work of art would they will able to get motivate? Thus, work of arts should be elucidated and understandable. Consider an example, Amitabh Bachchan had written great poem ‘Tu chal’, representating the girls dilemma by questioning to society about why every time girl need to prove her purity. His poem also motivates girl to stay strong. Such piece of arts should be truly understand, It provide different perspectives of the artists and sometimes motivates people to bravely face all situations.

Thirdly, Many works of arts depicts social status of the society which represents good as bad points of the society. Artists make such piece of art in hope that people would understand the current status of society and work towards to mollify the condition of the society.

However, One might argue that if merit is evaluated on the basis of acknowledgment many great artists work are acknowledged despite being obscure to layman. Consider an example, Picasso, many faced problem to interpret the message behind the artists work but still people consider his work estimable because of its intricate nature. Thus, it is very difficult task to categorize artists work on the basis of merit.

On wrapping up, For making work of arts to be acknowledge to an expected extent and allow to construe the social message attached to work of art, artists work should be understandable. However, many artists work are acknowledged by people because of its intricate nature.