In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

art is a celebration of human creativity. One enjoys art the most if they are able to understand it. art is appreciated when it is comprehended by its audience. However , it is not the case for every kind of art produced. There are lots of arts that have gotten merit, even if most of the people wouldn't understand it. Lets discuss several cases where the given prompt holds true and not.

it is true that man praises anything that makes sense to him. he gives merit if he understands it well.

art in the form of novels and poems is well appreciated only if it understood by its audience. Otherwise it neglected. No matter how great it is , people wont read it if they don't understand it. if you give a chinese novel to an american who doesn't understand chinese, no matter how beautifully it is written. The American can never love that book. so comprehension is must in such forms of art if it needs to get merit.

it is often said that music has no language barriers. songs like "Gangnam Style", "Despacito" have become all time hits when they got released. those are played and enjoyed globally irrespective of the song's language and its place of origin. people sing and dance to it even if it not understood by them. Famous english songs of eminem, justin beiber ,etc are well lauded in countries like India. people listen to those songs and enjoy them even if they dont understand the lyrics. so, with cases like these we can say that art gets merit even if it is not understood by most.

Hence,we can conclude that it cannot be generalised that art gets merit only if it is perceived by most of the people. Because at the end of the day, it is a question about the individuals taste and his ability to comprehend and enjoy art. Few forms of art like music and dances can be loved across the world even without being understood by people. While literary art forms needs to be understood by people so that they can enjoy them and give merit to it.