The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year.And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus , the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching public through advertising."

The advertising director states that the lesser viewership of the movies produced by the Super Screen Movie Production company in the past year was resulted not due to lack of quality in the movie but due to lack of awareness in the people about the good quality of the movie. However, we have to answer the below questions inorder to evaluate the given statement.

Firstly,what genre of movies Super Screen Production Company has taken in the past year? Perhaps the movie goers of that area have high interest to watch other genres apart from the ones released by this production company. We need to know the interests of the people to evaluate and understand if they would go to theatres to watch a movie. Without this information we cannot come to a conclusion that they are not watching it because of lack of awareness about good quality films.

Secondly,on what basis the reviews about the movies are taken and how qualified are the movie reviewers ? There could be high chances that the reviewers are biased towards this production company and always give a positive review no matter how bad the film is. How can we ascertain the genuineness of the reviews if they are actually said without any inclination. So this becomes a very important piece of information which is not stated by the advertising director to evaluate this statement.

Thirdly, what compells them to promptly say that lack of awareness is the only cause of lower viewership ? They certainly assume that a movie is viewed only if they are advertised well. This is a flawed assumption. A movie will be appreciated and viewed by the talk of mouth if it does really good. Perhaps the movies they had released could be really bad with a bad script or direction There are examples of lots of small movies where they have achieved tremendous viewership without huge spending's on its advertisements.

Only with the above questions answered one can evaluate the statement of the advertising director claiming lesser viewership of the movies despite many positive reviews is due to lack of awareness.