The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on- the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Vice President of Quiot Manufacturing has given a statement saying that the increased number of on-the-job accidents compared to Panoply Industries is because of fatigue and sleep deprivation in the workers and suggests to decrease the working hours of the employees by 1 hour to ensure that they get enough time to sleep and relax well. This statement is based on many unwarrented assumptions. Inorder to critically evaluate the given statement, the vice president needs to answer the below questions.

Firstly, Are the working conditions of Quiot Manufacturing same as that of Panoply Industries? Do both the industries have the same number of workers? Lets say if Panoply Industries is a clay pot making company, where less mechanical equipments are used and most of the work is done by skilled labor instead of machines. While if Quiot Manufacturing produces steel bars or cast iron pallets. Drawing a comparision between both the industries on the Onjob accidents is really ridiculous. The Vice President stated 30% more accidents in Quiot manufacturing, how is this 30% calculated. We are not given the information about the number of total workers in both the industries. So with out these informations , we cannot evaluate the given statement.

Secondly, How can the experts be sure that the significant factor of the onjob accidents is just fatigue and sleep deprivation? This statement is completely baseless. We are not informed about the proof with which the expert have come to that conclusion. Perhaps, the accidents are due to lack of safety measures in the factory. May be the machines are obselete and cause damage to the workers. Probably, the accidents are due to risky methods of manufacturing . So, there could be various reasos these accidents could occur. Hence, inorder to evaluate the Vice President's statement, we should be given more evidence.

Only when the above two questions answered, we can critically evaluate the given statment. We should be very sure about such decisions because these will affect the safety of the workers and factory's reputation. The missing pieces of information would be really helpful in evaluating the Vice Presidents claim.