The best way to teach is to praise the positive actions and ignore the negative ones.

It is essential for an individual to have a good and unbiased feedback for his self development. An individuals over all development completely lies in the introspection of ones actions. It is very pivotal to look for positives and negatives in oneself , if he needs to acheive growth. I would not agree with the given statement. The prompt does not hold water as it ignores the negative feedback to a person.

Teaching is something that is done selflessly. The teacher has to be frank and genuine with his feedback to his students. He should not withhold negative feedback while praising a student otherwise it will mar the teachers reputation. It is the question of honesty which matters the most . For a well wisher/teacher to give such biased feedback to the other person, it is deteriorating his own character. We could see some situations in corporate companies, where the financial advisers withhold few key information (especially negative) from the boss'es to maintain the goodwill. In such instances, the companies had failed a big time because of their mistakes that have not been handled because they were uninformed. So, the complete blame had gone on to the advisers who avoided informing about the negative information. They have been fired off from the company and their reputation had been black marked. So, It is necessary to reveal the information unbiased.

It helps in the personal growth of the individual if he is told about his negative actions.

For example - In a cricketing sport, the coach trains a batsman. If the batsman is very good with defensive shots and he lacks technique in aggressive shots and doesn't know that. If the coach praises the batsman for his excellent defense shots and doesn't speak about the lack of deftness in aggressive ones. It is very deleterious for the batsman in the long run. It is the duty of the coach to let the batsman know his strengths and his weaknesses. By this way the batsman can work on his weakness and further better his strengths. So, I believe that negative feedback's should not be held back if you want to teach somebody.

So, with aforementioned reason, I would come to a conclusion that, it is strongly recommended to tell both the positive and negative actions to a person if you really wish good. By this way, you can ensure in ones overall development and help in proper introspection of that person.