In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Can any works of art be understandable if they have merits? The speaker unfairly generalizes. In some areas, especially common art works opened to the public, they should be understandable to most people. In other areas, particularly the ancient masterpieces, the works’ value still exist although few people can understand the true meaning of them. Therefore, it is untenable to demonstrate whether most people should understand the art works without considering specific issues.

Common art works which are aimed to make profits should be understandable by the public. In terms of movies, sales of Avenger keep ahead of other films at the same time because of the popularity. One significant factor of Avenger’s success is the understandable main thesis; on the ground of making sense of Avenger, people would like to pay more attention to its absorbing plots and excellent performance of actors. Besides, most people prefer to read some painting books rather than appreciate famous art works in the gallery. Comic books such as Detective Conan is one of the pervasive painting styles; it added some detective but understandable plots to the comics, attracting more people to be Conan fans. Last but not least, in the field of literature, most people might choose to read understandable books at first. Tuesday with Morrie, a brief memoir of a dying professor: the content is easy to be comprehend because of using a myriad of conversation; furthermore, the book makes a big process of the sales because it highlights the topic of death which is close to everyone.

Although most people should apprehend the common art works, some arcane masterpieces don’t need to be understandable. Some experimental movies such as Empire cannot be apprehensive by the public, however, the unique film style of Andy Warhol create a new art form to describe the internal value of the images; until now, more and more directors apply this style to express feelings and emotions of specific objects. Meanwhile, in terms of paintings, on the ground of color and light, Van Gogh added emotions and feeling factors to develop the post impressionism. Although Van Gogh’s paintings did not acquire support of the public at that time, and few people could understand the value of his works in the current society, his valuable achievements cannot be ignored by the elusive painting concepts. In the field of literature, some ancient edified works such as One Hundred Years of Solitude which is only be understandable by some professional scholars; even though few people can comprehend the inspiring value of magic realism, the author of one hundred of solitude still to be the laureate of the Nobel Prize.

In a nutshell, it is necessary for most people to understand the common art works. However, the value of arcane art works cannot be ignored although few people can comprehend them.