Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

In the short time, creating an appealing image is more important than the reality or truth behind that image. however, people will pay more attention to the truth of the image in the long period. therefore, it is untenable to define which factor is more essential without considering the specific issues.

it is necessary to build up appealing images of issues during a short-time period. In the field of literature, the sales of book-publishing almost depend on the authors’ reputation and popularity. The romantic and illusive genres could be better to spur students’ reading interests and engender better sales such as novels of Guo Jingming. Most of his fans are teenagers, who are naïve and would like to pursue the romantic future. Meanwhile, in politics, the public would like to support those have charisma and eloquence to be the leaders. Herbert hoover was chosen to be the president of America during the Depression by making absorbing commitments: on the ground of satisfying physical demands such as provided sufficient food and offered more jobs, he promised to give more general welfare for the civils.

Even if the short-term appealing images could have positive influence on some aspects, it cannot benefit for the long-term development. although hoover wined the election and to be the president, his failure of Laissez-faire ended his political career eventually. therefore, the leaders’ contributions towards the nation during the tenure are more important than the short-term charming personalities. Besides, in arts, van Gogh, on the basis of Monet’s impressionism, he added factors of feeling and emotion to highlight color and light. His post impressionism produced a new creative painting style, but his works didn’t attain the public admits until now. although van Gogh’s works transcended the basic rules of the social rules he lived, it didn’t preclude his creativity to be found in the future. could people can still say that appealing image is more important? Probably not.

In a nutshell, it is important to build up a short-term appealing image to attract attention from the public. however, from a long-term perspective, the truth behind the image could create deep permanent effects.