The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, but by the general welfare of its people.

The achievements of its rulers could represent the development degree of one country, but the general welfare of its civils should show a nation’s great.

The nations’ achievements of different fields can show its degree of development, such as politics and art. In politics, Bill Clinton built up NAFTA, which reinforced the power force of America and made a big progress of developing economy. What’s more, it also made international influence and promoted the multiple development of other developing countries. Meanwhile, in the field of science, Yuan Longping, who discovered the hybrid rice, meeting the basic living demand of a myriad of people. His contribution solved starvation problems of many poor states and provided the best premise with China to step a new stage. Hence, the nation’s achievements are necessary for the development of the country.

Although the achievements could be the basic development factors of one country, it cannot be the indicator of its nation’s greatness. NAFTA promoted America’s economical development, however, there were still some poor people suffer from starving. Meanwhile, even if the hybrid rice satisfied food demand of all Chinese, it cannot represent the public’s income promotion which causing the improvement of living levels. Therefore, people should pay more attention to the general welfare in terms of the greatness of one country.

General welfare could not only satisfy people’s physical needs, but also the psychological needs. According to Maslow’s hierarchy of demands, physical needs such as food, shelter and employment are all the basic demand; psychological needs such as education could represent the happiness of daily life. Parents cannot afford education of children mean that the children cannot have enough opportunities and abilities to get good jobs, endangering the decline of the incomes and totally dragging on the increase of the nation’s GDP. However, if the government carry out more welfare to fund those poor children, they will have a bright future and devote to the country. Furthermore, the final goal of one nation is the enjoyment of the civils. Without the general welfare, though most people cannot famine, they still don’t experience the high-minded life quality. Thus, a great nation should focus on the mental demands of its people.

To sum up, achievements of a nation can meet the people’s physical needs, and the general welfare can satisfy people’s mental demands. To be a great nation, on the ground of the physical needs, they should pay more attention to the mental demands of its people.